indian cinema heritage foundation

Santosh Sivan


Santosh Sivan is a cinematographer, film  director, actor and producer known for  his extensive work in Indian cinema.

As a  cinematographer, he has won five National  Film Awards – including four for Best  Feature Film Cinematography. As of 2014,  he has received eleven National Film Awards for his work  in various films. He graduated from the Film and Television  Institute of India (FTII) and has to date, completed 45  feature films and 41 documentaries. He is a founding  member of the Indian Society of Cinematographers (ISC)  and is the most awarded Director of Photography (DP) in India. Santosh Sivan became the first Cinematographer  in Asia Pacific to be honored with American Society  of Cinematographers (ASC) membership.

He has been awarded the National Film Awards for Best Cinematography four times, for the films Perumthachan (1991), Kaalapani (1996), Iruvar (1997), and Dil Se.. (1998).

His filmography as a director in Tamil includes Theeviravaathi  (1999), Malli (2000), Navarasa (2005) and Inam (2014).