indian cinema heritage foundation

Pran Mehra

  • Born: 16 April 1923 (Lahore)
  • Died: 6 November 1978 (Bombay)
  • Primary Cinema: Hindi

Pran Mehra worked his editing scissors over some significant films in Hindi cinema’s history such as Naya Daur (1957), Kanoon (1960), Gumrah (1963), Waqt (1965), Deewaar (1975) and The Burning Train (1980). 

He worked with eminent filmmakers such as Roop K Shorey (Ek Thi Ladki, 1949; Dholak, 1951; Ek Do Teen , 1953), B R Chopra (Afsana, 1951;  Ek Hi Raasta, 1956; Kanoon; Hamraz, 1967), H S Rawail (Pocket Maar, 1956; Shararat, 1959), Lekh Tandon (Professor, 1962), Yash Chopra (Dharmputra, 1961; Waqt, 1965; Ittefaq, 1969; Deewaar).  He was awarded the Filmfare Award for Best Editing for his work in Gumrah. 

Apart from these established filmmakers, he also edited for several actor-turned-directors like I S Johar’s Miss India (1957), Sunil Dutt’s Yaadein (1964) and Reshma Aur Shera (1971), and Shammi Kapoor’s 1974 film Manoranjan

Pran Mehra also appeared on screen in a small role in Yash Chopra’s Waqt. He passed away on 6 November 1978 in Bombay.